Election 2016

Early voting by personal appearance for the 2016 General Election begins on Monday, October 24, 2016 and ends on Friday, November 4, 2016.

Read More »
Early Vote

Plan Houston: Make Your Voice Heard

The Plan Houston survey is now open. Your input will help ensure that the City will use its limited resources in the most effective means possible to improve our communities.

Read More »

Celebrate Disability Awareness Month

Metropolitan Multi-Service Center re-opening, festivities kick off #disAbilityAwareness

Read More »
disABILITY Awareness

Latest News

Oct. 26, 2016City of Houston

City Council Endorses Historic Pension Reforms

On a 16-1 vote, Houston City Council has endorsed Mayor Sylvester Turner’s historic package of pension reforms.  The vote clears the way for the City to move forward in partnership with the pension systems to seek legislative approval of the reforms.  Continue Reading »

Oct. 25, 2016Houston Chronicle

A pension deal in Houston? Miracles really can happen

There’s a deal on pensions in Houston. Anything is possible now. The Cubs can win a World Series. I will start using sports metaphors. I’ll be able to walk into a McDonald’s and respond to the aromas and mouth-watering LED imagery by coolly ordering only coffee. Black. Continue Reading »

Oct. 21, 2016Office of Council Member Ellen Cohen

Quality of Life Committee to Meet

imgres-133414Chair Cohen will convene a meeting of the Committee on Quality of Life on Wednesday, October 26th at 2PM in Council Chambers at City Hall. The Committee will review a presentation from the Houston Parks Department on fee schedule changes for park use permits and reservations. All committee meetings are open to the public and include an opportunity for public comment.

Oct. 13, 2016Houston Chronicle

Eleanor Tinsley was a 40-year force for reform in Houston

Eleanor Whilden Tinsley was a stylish stay-at-home mom who’d taught piano lessons and Sunday school when a trio of men arrived at her suburban ranch house in 1969, her son recalls. They sought to recruit her to run for school board as part of a slate to finally end segregation in the Houston public schools – more than 15 years after the Supreme Court had officially outlawed it. Continue Reading »